Introductions and wanting to relate.. it’s the small things

Hey world, it’s me. For my first post I am just going to stick to the basics about myself because I do not exactly find it necessary to spill out my life story in my first ever appearance on my blog… I mean what am I trying to be that girl who only talks about herself on the first date? I cannot really picture there being many second dates in those situations, but anyway who am I to judge. My name is Briana and I am one of those fresh-out-of-college graduates looking for jobs and wanting to move out, but at the same time not exactly complaining that I am not forced to pay my own bills yet. Anyone else out there that can relate? I thought a blog would be a perfect way to start a new hobby in between my hours of scrolling Indeed.com and LinkedIn, not to mention I am kind of trying to find myself after ending my career as a college athlete…. Help! All I have ever known and identified myself as is an athlete! Now I have to find other interests?!?! What a concept.

As I sit here trying to write this first post I cannot help but think of that incredibly awkward game that almost every college orientation makes you play with an array of other new, timid students- please tell me you know the one where you throw a ball of some sort with a series of questions on it to one another, and wherever your thumb lands holds the question that you have to answer in front of people you are just meeting. I am not saying the concept of the game is bad, I mean what else is the person who is responsible for leading and helping these new students supposed to do in order to break the ice? It’s not like you can just go around the room and shake everyone’s hand, like come on that would be 10 times worse. My only point is that I have always found myself asking the question “Do we all really care to hear that kid with the long brown hair say his favorite actor is Adam Sandler?”, or “Are we all really going to remember that girl with the nose ring and freckles say she is obsessed with mint chocolate chip ice cream?”… Probably not. ** I hope you all are understanding the game I am referring to or have played it yourselves because it would be semi helpful if I wasn’t just rambling on about a game only unique to my experiences**. Regardless, my overarching point is that at some point in all of our lives people who are in charge of us or who are higher up on the ladder have made us in some way get to know the people around us. And while we may not always remember exactly what people said during those ice breakers or activities, there is usually some moment or person that you end up relating to which makes an impact on your life in one small way or another.

Relating to others is a conversation starter, it is a way in which we can continue the interaction with another person. And while relating to others is important, part of my point of writing this is the fact that there are SO many people on this planet… the number keeps climbing higher and higher and in some parts of the world it seems like the number is endless. But the beauty of relating to others is that while someone tells you about their story and their unique experiences, there is usually something minor that you can pick out to be like “Hey I have that too” or “I know what you mean”. It is these small moments that, to me, makes interacting with others so special and those uncomfortable first meetings bearable.

It is harder than I had thought it would be to open my computer and start typing away because as I began there were a million ideas flooding to my head, but simultaneously none. What I mean by this confusing and almost impossible statement is that yes, I do have so much I want to write about and share with others, but it is quite the task to determine where to begin. So while that silly old ice breaker game might of had us all rolling our eyes at the time, we have to admit we learned something from it about people who we may not of even come across again in our lives. That is something I kind of like about this world. If you walk down the streets or hallways or wherever it be that you frequent, you do not have an exchange with every stranger you pass. But if you’re at a restaurant alone next to someone else alone, riding in an elevator with someone else, or riding in an Uber you have the opportunity to hear even the smallest bit about someone else’s life if you make the effort (if you ask them a question or try and make a funny little remark and they completely ignore you then lets just assume there is a language barrier). I bring this point up because I find it so fascinating that you can hop in an Uber pool which picks up multiple riders and hold a conversation with other passengers and even the driver about the most random things… and sometimes right when the conversation gets comfortable one rider has to get out and you probably don’t ever see them again. What a strange yet awesome situation- all in one Uber ride I talked with a man from Spain and a driver from Kenya. Why was this all possible? Because we all made an effort to find something to relate on. I mean, where else would we be in this world if we couldn’t connect with others? That is what I hope to do through this blog; share funny stories, speak how I feel, and maybe even get a couple people to feel as if they have had similar experiences in their own lives.

I want to thank you, where ever you are in this world, for taking the time to read my first post and see what I am all about. This blog is something I am super excited about, and as I said, I think it is a great thing to be able to connect with others through mediums such as this. So, for anyone willing, feel free to comment an article subject you want me to touch upon and share with you all to make this a collaborative space, for the people!

Catch you on the flip,

Briana

9 thoughts on “Introductions and wanting to relate.. it’s the small things

  1. Briana, I totally relate to that sort of awkward, in-between phase resembling limbo, where you’re an adult and fresh out of post-secondary, ready to venture into the next phase of being a grown up…but also, feeling like rent and utility bills can maybe wait still.

    I love that your initial post was about relating and here I am, totally relating to what you have to say! Blogging offers such a great outlet to try and express often complex thoughts and ideas. I have a “Thoughts” section of my blog for this very purpose, and I have to say, it’s amazing people’s desire and willingness to respond with their own stories and insights. Some of the most sound advice I’ve received has been from fellow bloggers commenting on my posts.

    I’m very glad you’ve joined the blogging realm. Welcome! I’m sure you’ll find it to be very fulfilling and I look forward to reading much more from you.

    Like

    1. Wow thank you so much for this great, helpful comment!! Only being a week into my blogging experience and I am already really enjoying the process, and getting to hear from other bloggers like yourself is totally rewarding! The “Thoughts” comment sounds like a brilliant idea, as I know what you mean in the sense that you never know how much someone is willing to share about themselves; and often times it does pleasantly surprise you. Thank you again for your kind message, I look forward to reading more of your posts as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like how you introduced yourself by relating and stating the awkward situations we might find ourselves in. I try everyday to talk with someone new and try to find common ground sometimes it’s hard to do so and other times not so hard. 🙂 I enjoyed reading your blog and look forward to what else you have to say

    Like

Leave a comment